The New Exchange

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/20/2015 8:20 am  #1

Rangel: Reinstate the draft

Rangel: Reinstate the draft
http://thehill.com/policy/defense/236365-rangel-renews-call-for-war-tax-national-draft

Rep. Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.) is re-introducing legislation that would reinstate a military draft in the U.S. and impose a “war tax” so that Americans “feel the burden” of ongoing military operations against Islamic militants."Armed conflict is unpredictable, chaotic, and costly. When I served, the entire nation shared the sacrifices through the draft and increased taxes. But today, only a fraction of America shoulders the burden. If war is truly necessary, we must all come together to support and defend our nation," Rangel, who served in the Army, said Thursday in a statement. "As a Korean War veteran, I know the toll war takes." His Draft Act would open the draft to women and require everyone between the ages 18 to 25 to register for the Selective Service System.It also calls for the reinstatement of a lottery to draft them into the military whenever an authorization for use of military force (AUMF) or declaration of war is in effect.Meanwhile, the War Tax Act requires that current and future war funding be paid for with revenue increases.

Last edited by Common Sense (3/20/2015 8:20 am)

“We hold these truths to be self-evident,”  former vice president Biden said during a campaign event in Texas on Monday. "All men and women created by — you know, you know, the thing.”

3/20/2015 8:33 am  #2

Re: Rangel: Reinstate the draft

Charlie has advocated this for some time. There is some merit in the argument, but it will never happen.
The military itself doesn't want the draft.

We live in a time in which decent and otherwise sensible people are surrendering too easily to the hectoring of morons or extremists. 

3/20/2015 8:54 am  #3